© 2015 admin. All rights reserved.

Summer Music 2015

A Weekend festival of four concerts

directed by Corentin Chassard

Four programmes of works by Haydn, Mozart, Brahms, Bruch, Messiaen, Piazzola, and many more: classical and romantic works, classic pieces from the 20th century, alongside some short pieces from contemporary composers.

Aisha Orazbayeva, Rosie Kennally, Charlotte Maclet: violins Elitsa Bogdanova: viola Corentin Chassard: cello Adrien Bernege: clarinet and bass clarinet Guillaume Mathias: piano Ruaidhri Mannion: composer and electronics James Fawcett: harmonium

Our festival is the fruit of a dynamic encounter when these musicians gather to perform here in Thornham as well as at a sister festival in Brittany: the programmes are in evolution so the programme below may be subject to some changes.

Thursday 16th July 2015, 7.30pm, Yaxley Hall

 - S O L D   O U T -

A first half with contrasting movements by Saint-Saens, Bach, Bruch, Fauré and Chopin Rimski-Korsakov's Flight of the bumblebee. After the interval:
A.Piazzola, Four Seasons, for violin, cello and piano.

Interval refreshments included.

Saturday 18th July 2015, 12pm, Thornham Parva

C.Chassard, Parva, for solo cello
O.Messiaen, two movements from Quatuor pour la fin du temps
A.Vivaldi, Cello Sonata No. 3, Largo
M.Corrette, Cello Sonata, Largo
W.Cheshire, Slices, for clarinet quintet (2014 - 8min)
J.Haydn, String Quartet Opus 20, No. 4

following the Thornham Parva concert: booking essential.

Lunch is prepared by a team from the Beyond the Wall project at the Thornham Walled Garden. Proceeds from the lunch go to Beyond the Wall.

Saturday 18th July 2015, 7.30pm, Thornham Magna

with licensed bar

Georg Philip Telemann, Fantasia in D minor
Marin Marais variations on La Folia
Johann Sebastien Bach, Sonata for solo violin in A minor movts. i & ii
Edward Elgar, Salut d'Amour

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, String Quartet K.575

Ruaidhri Mannion, New Work for guitar, live electronics, voice and cello


Sunday 19th July 2015, 4pm, Thornham Magna

interval refreshments

Giacinto Scelsi, Xnoybis for solo violin, movt. iii (4min)
Edmund Finnis, Sister for violin and cello (2012 - 4min)
Edmund Finnis
, Brother for violin and viola (2010- 4min)
S.Sciarrino, Caprice no.1 for solo violin (3min)
S.Frisch, Provost for string quartet (2014 - UK premiere - 16min)
Franz Schubert, String Quartet no. 14 in D minor Death and the Maiden


For all FOUR concerts: £39
Any THREE concerts £29
Any TWO concerts £24
Yaxley Hall concert: £18
Thornham Magna concerts £15
Thornham Parva concert: £10
Saturday Lunch: £9

During the festival weekend there will be a chance to view a special photographic exhibition in Thornham Magna church. Postcards are for sale.

Look Up!
An exhibition of photographs of the
 curious bosses in the nave roof,
St Mary Magdalene, Thornham Magna

bosses poste-1